Meeting of the Graduate Assembly

The University of Texas at Arlington

Date:	February 12, 2009
Time:	2:30 p.m.
Place:	San Saba, University Center
Presiding:	Dr. Nancy Hadaway, Presiding Chair

Attending:

Beverly Black, Philip Cohen, Gautam Das, Greg Frazier, Roger Goolsby, Nancy Hadaway, John Holbrook, Raymond Jackson, Andrzej Korzeniowski, Neill Matheson, Tim Morris, Gerald Saxon, Mary Schira, James Teng, Sherman Wyman

Guest: Beth Ann Shelton, Sociology

I. Call to Order:

Dr. Nancy Hadaway, Presiding Chair, called the meeting of the Graduate Assembly to order at 2:30 p.m.

II. Approval of Minutes – November 13, 2008

Minutes from the November 13 2008 Graduate Assembly Meeting approved as submitted.

III. Report of the Graduate Dean – Dr. Cohen

No report.

IV. Committee Reports

A. Committee on Graduate Students – Dr. Ski Hunter, Chair

No report

B. Committee on Program Creation – Dr. Greg Frazier, Chair

The proposal for a Fast Track Program, Master of Arts in Sociology was submitted and unanimously approved.

C. Committee on Program Revision – Dr. Mary Schira, Chair

No report

V. Report of the Chair – Dr. Hadaway

The GA elections will be discussed at the April meeting. Notices about elections will be forwarded to the appropriate Colleges and School by Connie Frazier in the Provost Office.

VI. Report of the Graduate Student Senate Representative—

No report

VII. New Business

The Committee on Program Revision will begin discussions to determine the differences between external reviews and internal program reviews and determine if it is possible to be exempt from one.

VIII. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 2:40 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted: Jennifer Knight Executive Assistant to the Dean Office of Graduate Studies February 19, 2009