Meeting of the Graduate Assembly

The University of Texas at Arlington

Date:	April 10, 2008
Time:	2:30 p.m.
Place:	San Saba, University Center
Presiding:	Dr. Nancy Hadaway, Presiding Chair

Attending:

Edward Bellion, Tom Christie, Philip Cohen, Greg Frazier, Nancy Hadaway, Rebecca Hegar, Raymond Jackson, David Jones, Andrzej Korzeniowski, Mohan Kumar, Alexa Smith-Osborn for Ski Hunter, Gerald Saxon, Craig Slinkman,

Excused: Ski Hunter, Mary Schira and James Teng

Guests: Dr. Frank Lamas and Dean Don Gatzke (New Student Convocation)

I. Call to Order:

Dr. Nancy Hadaway, Presiding Chair, called the meeting of the Graduate Assembly to order at 2:37 p.m.

II. Approval of Minutes – 2/14/08

Minutes from the February 14, 2008 Graduate Assembly Meeting approved as submitted.

III. Report from Guests regarding Convocation

Dean Donald Gatzke, School of Architecture and Dr. Frank Lamas, Vice President for Student Affairs shared information about the New Student Convocation held in the fall. Because the Convocation is an academic program, they have designed the program to show more of the intellectual life on campus. They asked the Graduate Assembly to attend the Convocation and encouraged their colleagues to attend also. Convocation will be Friday, August 22, 2008 at 4 p.m. The ceremony will last about fifty minutes.

IV. Report of the Graduate Dean – Dr. Cohen

- The University's tuition for AY 08-9 and AY 09-10 was announced.
- Dr. Ronald Bobbitt, dean of the J William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Arkansas will assume the role of Provost and professor of Chemistry on July 1, 2008.
- We hope to see a 4%-5% increase in graduate enrollment in fall 2008.
- The Office of Graduate Studies must re-structure the Graduate School's fellowship program for AY 09-10 cycle to match the revenue for the program. The Fellowship program will be downsized. Dean Cohen will be meeting with deans, chairs and graduate advisors to discuss.

V. Committee Reports

A. Committee on Graduate Students – Dr. Ski Hunter, Chair

No report

B. Committee on Program Creation – Dr. Greg Frazier, Chair

No report

C. Committee on Program Revision – Dr. Mary Schira, Chair

No report

VI. Report of the Chair – Dr. Hadaway

The GA membership terms of representatives Rebecca Hegar, Mohan Kumar, Greg Frazier and Mary Schira, will expire summer 2008. Representatives Mohan Kumar, Greg Frazier, and Mary Schira are eligible for re-election. Notices about elections will be forwarded to the appropriate Colleges and School.

Greg Frazier re-elected as Chair Pro-Tem.

VII. Report of the Graduate Student Senate Representative—Tracy-Lynn Clough

No report

VIII. New Business

Dr. Jackson discussed a proposal to change the drop date for graduate students to 75% of the duration of the course to match the undergraduate drop date. The Assembly voted to approve the proposal. This new policy will take effect fall 2008.

The Graduate Teaching Assistantship Handbook is complete. It will be available in the near future.

IX. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 3:30 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted: Lanie Gordon Financial Aid Counselor Office of Graduate Studies

Revised: Jennifer Knight

Lanie\Jennifer Projects\Graduate Assembly\Meeting of the Graduate Assembly minutes 4-10-08.doc