MEETING OF THE GRADUATE ASSEMBLY

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT ARLINGTON

DATE:	November 8, 2007
TIME:	2:30 pm
PLACE:	San Saba Room, University Center
PRESIDING:	Dr. Nancy Hadaway, Presiding Chair

ATTENDING: Sia Ardekani, Edward Bellion, Philip Cohen (Ex Officio), Greg Frazier, Roger Goolsby, Nancy Hadaway (Presiding Chair), Rebecca Hegar, David Jones, Andrzej Korzeniowski, Mohan Kumar, Gerald Saxon (Ex Officio), Mary Schira, Craig Slinkman, James Teng, Amy Tigner

Guest(s): Rebecca Boles (University-Wide Committee on Higher Order Thinking and Active Learning)

I. Call to Order

Dr. Nancy Hadaway, Presiding Chair, called the meeting of the Graduate Assembly to order at 2:40 pm.

II. Approval of Minutes

Minutes from the October 4, 2007 Graduate Assembly Meeting approved as submitted.

III. Report of the Graduate Dean

Dr. Cohen made the following announcement(s):

• Dean Cohen asked GA members to develop one or two initiatives that are critical for graduate education at UTA, initiatives that the Assembly could then seek to make some progress on. Suggestions included improving financial support for graduate students or improving graduate student retention and completion rates.

IV. Committee Reports

A. Committee on Graduate Students – (Chair, Dr. Ski Hunter)

No committee report.

B. Committee on Program Creation – Dr. Greg Frazier, Chair

- 1. The committee submitted the Fast Track Program for Master's Degree in Aerospace Engineering to the Graduate Assembly. The Graduate Assembly unanimously approved Fast Track Program for Master's Degree in Aerospace Engineering.
- 2. The committee submitted the Fast Track Program for Master's Degree in Computer Science and Engineering. The Graduate Assembly unanimously approved the Fast Track Program for Master's Degree in Computer Science and Engineering.
- **3.** The committee suggested the pending proposals by Industrial Engineering and SUPA use the template created by Dr. Raymond Jackson as it is inclusive of the proposal format and items required for submission.

C. Committee on Program Revision – Dr. Mary Schira, Chair

No committee report.

V. Report of the Chair – Dr. Hadaway

No report.

VI. Report of Graduate Student Senate Representative

No report.

VII. New Business

As the Graduate Assembly's representative to the All Encompassing Tuition Review Committee (AETRC), Dr. Mohan Kumar reported on the committee's work. Dr. Kumar presented the administration's current proposal for 2008-2009 and 2009-2010. Dr. Kumar will share the GA's discussion of this proposal with the AETRC.

VIII. Old Business

No report.

IX. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 3:45 pm

Respectively Submitted: Jennifer Knight Executive Assistant to the Dean Office of Graduate Studies GA:F011082007